Presented by
Terry "Wild-Wild" West!

Call us at (206)786-3421

Testimonials

Customer Reviews

Hi Terry,

Looking forward to Saturday night’s Swing & Everything dance…asked Tom at his Tuesday night class if OK to email you for request…here goes…would love to hear few Hustles…your choice…like your choices of music…always have

Thanks and look forward to Saturday,

Paulette McClinton 7/27/16


******************************************************************


Terry,
I really appreciate your help to make the Verve the premier dance venue in the area.

I am often reminded of the importance of your presence and energy that bring people back week after week. When you take leave, we have to bring in someone with a fraction of your stature, to provide some sign of life behind the mixer.

Thank you,

Barney 2/6/16 (owner of the Verve Ballroom)

*******************************************************

Hi Terry,
Thanks to you and Polly for the excellent easy-to-understand and chock-full-of-moves country dance lesson last night in Bremerton. It really made our trip from Port Townsend to Bremerton worthwhile! – plus your dj tunes were great as usual.
Yee haw!
Jean Bettanny 2/20/16


**********************************************************************
Terry is a fantastic dance instructor, DJ and event manager. I've attended probably a hundred of his events: weekly social dances (20-400 attendees), swing dance lessons (beginning to very advanced), ballroom and swing dance competitions, even DJ of my own wedding! Knowledgable, professional and truly interested in everyone enjoying the event. Highly recommended. Suzanne Pierce - July 23, 2015

*****************************************************************************************

Thank you, Terry. Finally someone is stepping up. Your music is by far the best in the country and you truly belong at the top.

Barb Dyer 11/23/15

*****************************************************************************************

Thanks for playing actual swing music at the Seattle Swing Dance Club dance plus some more cutting edge music with definately swing rhythms. There were several people that commented how delighted they were to experience actual swing music rather than the frequent pop music that has minimal swing rhythmic elements.

Greg Logan 11/23/15

*****************************************************************************************

I had so much fun last night. Thank you, Terry

Judi Chandless 11/10/15

*****************************************************************************************

Thanks Terry for the awesome music last night. Thanks for getting our car started, too. Carole Punsalan 11/1/15

*****************************************************************************************

Terry's Dracula outfit must be seen to be believed!

Zachariah Cassady 10/27/15

*****************************************************************************************

Terry! I love this. Your were the go-to guy for West Coast Swing. Now you have become the go-to guy for Ballroom. Kudos!

Christa Quackenbush 10/2/15

*****************************************************************************************

Thank you to Terry West for spinning great tunes and for all you do for the NW dance community and bringing people together. You make the world better through your most valuable service to others. Ken French - July 21, 2015

*****************************************************************************************

You, my friend, have by far the best music of any venue in town, and the most congenial host – Slawek Porowski - June 16, 2015

*****************************************************************************************

Hi Anna!

Congratulations on your upcoming wedding!

It is without hesitation that I recommend Terry West for your wedding! I have had the pleasure of attending dances that Terry has DJ’d at over the years and have NEVER been disappointed! He did an exceptional job at my wedding. At the last minute, we had a request for him to play some “lame” music, cut it off early, and go immediately into another song for which my husband and I did a surprise dance to. He willingly, without hesitation, found the music we needed and made the surprise happen…even at the last minute!

He is a talented “master of ceremonies” and keeps people dancing by ‘reading’ the crowd and playing what they are enjoying dancing to. His music library is extensive including every genre of music you can think of. He accepts requests willingly and I don’t think there has ever been a song I’ve requested that he hasn’t had. His equipment is top notch and the sound is incredible when playing inside or outside.

My fourth of July party would not be the same without Terry. This year will be his third year playing for us. He has played patriotic music in conjunction with our fireworks to make it beyond spectacular and has even humored me when I take his microphone and sing my own patriotic tune! He has always been willing to keep the party going by playing late when I ask! When I start talking about my July 4th party, people always ask first…"is Terry playing again?” He is classy and professional in every way, and a great dancer and teacher too!

Hire him! I know you will not be disappointed!

Congratulations again!

Janet Barton - May 16, 2015

*****************************************************************************************

Congrats on your Easter swing gig! I still like your music best of all! Greg Kahler - March 28, 2015

*****************************************************************************************

Yes, you do a great job!!! Have a great evening!! Alicia Leo - March 28, 2015

*****************************************************************************************

Better playlists simply cannot be found, thanks for all the great moves, muse and music Terry and Hall of Fame DJ Terry West. Tom Myers - March 28, 2015

*****************************************************************************************

Well you inspire me Terry. You share a lot of yourself on Facebook too. When I go skiing, I go with friends I made dancing. When I go to San Francisco, it's to visit dance friends. First trip to NYC last year...a Lindy Hop convention. My hiking partners....mostly dancers. I read your posts Terry and realize we are a lot alike. Keep those great posts coming. I always look forward to them. Everything I read on your page is positive and inspiring. Shawn Burke - March 13, 2015

*****************************************************************************************

Hi Terry. Was great having you at the Bremerton Elks for the first time today. Thank you! To let you know, I heard nothing but GOOD from my Dance Club and some others also. I sure hope we can keep you coming back. This was certainly a good start. Hope you enjoyed yourself with us as well.

Good luck to you in becoming a 'regular' at the Bremerton Lodge. I will certainly support you in every way I can. LUV YOUR MUSIC. Jan Madison - Jan 23, 2015

*******************************************************

We all commonly and repeatedly say what wonderful music you plan at the Verve. Thanks! Deb Scheuerman - Jan 20, 2015

*******************************************************

Man you are one positive guy!! You actually look good in a hospital bed. I want some of your happy-go-lucky attitude. Heal quickly. You’re the best DJ in Seattle.
Karen Derrickson - Jan 19, 2015

*******************************************************

Terry, good to hear from you. I so wish you were teaching classes in Seattle. As of next Sunday, I am joining the Seattle Swing Dance Club, and I see you will be the DJ. I wish you would teach there more often, for everything you teach is useful!
Peter Neurath - Jan 10, 2015

*******************************************************

Terry, you were great last night and we so appreciated your DJ skills and music. Here's an email from one of the dancers from last night which I say ditto to. Beth Trost - Jan 1, 2015

"Beth,
Last night was a near perfect evening! I really liked it that Terry West MC'd the entire evening. He does a such a good job. The program showcasing the young dancers was delightful. The turnout was less than last year, and still it felt like a Big Party. You did a fabulous job pulling it all together. Thank you for a really nice evening."
Teresa Hey - Jan 1, 2015

*******************************************************

Hi Terry, Just wanted to say that Bob and I really enjoyed your music at the USA dance at the Lakewood Elks at the end of September. We've been out of commission, as Bob hurt his heel, but we hope to see you again soon. In the meantime happy dancing,
Daniela Weaver - Oct 7, 2014

*******************************************************

Terry and Jackie were awesome - I loved watching them dance!
Anita LaFranchi - Sept 25, 2014

*******************************************************

"I think Terry West is a good example of promoting healthy thought processes."
Greg Bartlett - Sept 3, 2014

*******************************************************

I have been enjoying your music both at Verve, Aria and Seattle Swing Club.
Paul Deguchi - March 3, 2014

*******************************************************

Always enjoying your choice of music at The Verve. Thank you. See you there.
Wiesia - March 1, 2014

*******************************************************

Terry, Thanks for sharing your dance story! I'm glad you found dancing and are so willing to share your love for it with the rest of us. I hope I'll be ready for dancing again very soon & make it to your dances again. Happy New Year! Michelle - Jan 4, 2014

*******************************************************

Just wanted to say once more what a great dance you hosted. We really had a great time. Thanks ! Scott Steinmetz - Dec 15, 2013

*******************************************************

Hey Terry. It was great dancing to your music last Friday. You have been our favorite DJ all these years. Carole Punsalan - Nov 17, 2013

*******************************************************

A huge thanks to you Terry for your fantastic instruction, DJ'ing, and your vampire energy the entire Seabeck weekend! Northwest Dance - Oct 30, 2013

*******************************************************

Terry West is one of the best dj's around for social dancing venues. He has a great sense for music selections that are catered to the crowd, yet have enough variety so basically EVERYONE can dance at his parties. My dance friends and I always have a great time at any event where Terry is playing! Butch - September 2013

******************************************************

Terry, Wonderful Waltz music played last night, Fanny said she enjoyed all of the Waltz music you chose! Thanks, Thio Budiman - August 12, 2012

*******************************************************

Hi Terry, Just wanted to thank you for the great job you did last night. The music was the best, and you ran the whole night perfectly as MC. Thanks to Kathy, too, for helping with the setup and being so friendly. Everyone was having such a fun time, and we really appreciate you keeping the party going extra long. We heard lots of comments about how fun it was. We couldn't have had a better celebration! Roy and Farrell Sjoberg - August 4, 2012

*******************************************************

Hi Terry, The music tonight was thrilling! Thank you. It was worth the long trip from Port Townsend, a city where you are arrested if you dare to use arm-styling while dancing. :-) What a relief it was to have our arms free at last at tonight's Bremerton dance! Looking forward to your amazing variety of original tunes next month. Jean and Tom from Port Townsend - July 22, 2012

*******************************************************

Terry, Hope you can have a great vacation!! Just wanted to say I think you are a great teacher and DJ. I always enjoy your lessons and classes. Thank You for all your teaching and DJing you give to the dance community to share the gift of Dancing. Peace and love. Have a great new years! Pam Hallanger - December 22, 2011

*******************************************************

Dear Terry, We could tell you went the extra mile for your lovely Christmas Dance at the Abbey. The cookies and punch were a real treat for us—it created such a nice mood for Steve and I. We felt we were experiencing a true Christmas festivity. Since I am a sucker for elegant Christmas songs this time of the year, I will always want more old fashion Christmas songs played to dance the beautiful Waltz. But that is just me---a true romantic. The wonderful people added to the fun. We meet some new faces, as well, some were couples and some were singles—Linda & Dave, Angel & Joy, Betty & Bob, etc. We were reacquainted with Irene—a real sweet heart. Thanks again for a very lovely Christmas Dance. By the way, you looked really sharp in your Christmas tie. Please, send our love to Irene and Merry Christmas to you both! Steve & Patty Duras - December 18, 2011

*******************************************************

I am a general-ballroom social-dance enthusiast who has been dancing more than 12 years, usually four nights a week. I've made a point of visiting most of the ballroom dance studios and venues in the Puget Sound area, and have noted over the years who are the best DJs for general-ballroom social-dancers. I would like to say that Terry West is not exceeded by any DJ in this area, in my opinion. I especially like two things that he does:

1) The tempo (the speed of the rhythm) for Waltzes and Foxtrots that Terry plays is what I consider a "social tempo." This is a dancer-friendly tempo that makes it easy, especially for the ladies, to stay on rhythm. For example, most of Frank Sinatra's Foxtrots are social-tempo songs, which is, in my opinion, one of the reasons his music is so popular with dancers.

2) The Triple-Count Swing songs that Terry plays have a strong rhythm and a slightly slow tempo. This is also very dancer-friendly music, which makes it easy to stay on rhythm, and the tempo allows me to perform all my patterns. If the tempo is too fast, some of my dance patterns do not work well, especially with beginner dancers.

I think there are many other fine DJs out there, but most do not play music that is well suited for general-ballroom social-dancers. However, Terry West is not limited to that type of music mix. I've also seen him do equally well with competition-ballroom and West Coast Swing flavored mixes. If you are interested in any of these three types of music mixes, I recommend Terry West.

Roger Douglas - Bellevue, Washington

*******************************************************

Terry, Jackie, and Irene, We have been attending your Funky Friday's for a couple of months now and must let you know we have a great time. The classes are fun, the attendance is always attended by smiling, fun loving dancers. The overall atmosphere is fantastic. I would highly recommend anyone without a good venue to dance at on Fridays come get acquainted with our DJ, suggest to him your favorite music, country, west coast, east coast, salsa, or tango, he has it all. Overall a great, inexpensive place to unwind from the week. We hope to see many more of you this Friday at Terry's dance. Mike & Carol Chambers

*******************************************************

Thank you for a wonderful Wednesday night of West Coast Swing. All worldly concerns just melted and dissolved into the universe. I appreciated you allowing me to drop in on Level 2 and to fill in on Level 1. You are an incredible instructor...your attention to detail, talent, and snappy patter are an awesome combination. I miss your class but my civic duties call to me on Wednesdays; hopefully the universe will work with me on a solution; after all it took me getting half-way through Level 2 part A to even start liking the dance...and then I fell in love.... Peace, Judith Lucotch - January 27, 2012

*******************************************************

Terry, I really appreciate your philosophy about dancing and that you took the time to explain it in your email. I’ve learned so much from you and really enjoy West Coast now. When I first started, I complained about it because it was too complicated and hard to learn. I have since learned it is fun and romantic at the same time. Listening to you in class it is easy to see how much you enjoy the dance and teaching it to others. We should all treat each other everyday the way you describe the dance relationship. There is dancing and then there is DANCING! Thank you for being a great teacher; teaching and improving my West Coast skills as well as with all of my other dancing. See you tomorrow, Michelle

*******************************************************

I've had many dance teachers, and few teach as well as Terry and Jackie. Many teachers talk too much. Others expect students to catch on to steps, moves, syncopations or patterns simply by showing them and then telling students to copy what they've seen. Still others give students too much all at once, and they cover dance material too rapidly. Terry and Jackie commit none of these teaching errors. They first show, say, a pattern. Then they break it down into small chunks and walk their students through each one, making sure that it's all understood. And then they drill you, and I do mean drill you, because Terry believes that repetition is key to learning, and I couldn't agree more. Terry teaches the way a sport coach would train his team. You cannot find a finer teacher! Peter Neurath, Seattle

*******************************************************

I took my first West Coast Swing steps under Terry & Jackie's tutelage at a grand old wreck in Maple Valley called The Aquabarn. Its hardwood floors were so old it was like dancing over a series of giant ocean waves--you had to get good fast just to stay vertical! And I remember thinking of Terry, "This is the first person I ever met who teaches you about the nature of happiness and makes you believe it." - Meg Gates

*******************************************************

I began taking lessons from Terry and Jackie a year ago. Having watched and admired the “good” dancers, I decided to jump in and take lessons from the best. There are many aspects of the dance they introduce their students to in a fun and challenging way. Through humor, personal finesse and teamwork, they taught the basics, allowed me to experiment, be creative, and eventually, love West Coast Swing in all its’ subtle and seductive ways. The best part of the lessons was having a place to stay afterward and practice our new “moves” to an exceptional selection of music. Thank you, both, for dedication to your craft, it’s infectious! - Susan Petrossian

*******************************************************

I started taking lessons from Terry and Jackie over 13 years ago. I was so intimidated by West Coast Swing. I had tried it way back in the '80s and found it hard to learn. Not so with Terry and Jackie! I took lessons for two years and learned to love West Coast Swing; it became my favorite dance! I dance West Coast Swing to all different types of music and find it to be most versatile. And, as no surprise, so were Terry and Jackie. They emulate the best in dance form and style. I just love watching them dance as much today as I did all those years ago. I really like that they show you how it should be done and then they break it down so it is easy to do. I have learned so much from both of them! Hope to see you guys again soon! - Teri Sivaivai

*******************************************************

My first West Coast Swing group lessons were from Terry and Jackie in January 2007. From the very first time I attended one of their classes, I felt right at home. (Not just because I won the door prize) Terry and Jackie are friendly and fun; breaking down various patterns into easy to follow steps for beginners. In the intermediate/advanced level class the moves are complicated enough to challange even skilled dancers; however, through their methods of teaching they make learning very easy. The excellent music mix and great crowds that Terry and Jackie bring also add to the romance of the dance. Plus, the comic banter is hard to match. Though it took me a while to gain confidence on the dance floor, after going through the first progressive lesson I felt much more comfortable. Accompanied with Terry and Jackie’s encouragement and the friendly crowd, who also encourage beginners to get out there and practice, practice, practice, have now met many people that I would consider good friends. Since January, I’ve taken several classes with Terry and Jackie and now, I feel like I’m a dancing machine. Thank you for everything. - Steve G.

*******************************************************

When you are bold enough to start learning West Coast Swing, Terry and Jackie make it WAY FUN instead of hard! Two thumbs up!! - Bruce Gombrelli

*******************************************************

When you're tired of leading or following the same basic West Coast Swing patterns over and over, then dance on over to Terry and Jackie’s Wednesday or Friday night intermediate classes at China Harbor; followed by a 3 hour dance to practice what you’ve just learned. Terry and Jackie are two of the best, and nicest, instructors I've ever had, and make learning an enjoyable, fun experience. They will teach you interesting and challenging intermediate patterns that will greatly expand your dancing repertoire and help keep your dancing fresh. In every class you will also learn sequences of patterns that flow together nicely from one to the next, which is a great learning aid, and impressive on the dance floor when you execute the sequences with your dance partner. They will also show you how to put the swing into West Coast Swing, while they give you loads of great tips for improving both your social and competitive dancing. Give them a try. You won’t be disappointed! - Greg Moravan

*******************************************************

It's All About The Music...

One Thursday evening, a few years ago, I happened into the Lake City Elks Club. I was immediately taken by the driving "funky" beat of the music being played at a dance. Music has been a MAJOR part of my life, all my life, and what I was hearing was EXACTLY my preference. As a young man I was heavily into Rhythm and Blues music and all its corresponding dances. James Brown, Ray Charles, Bobby "Blue" Bland, Wilson Pickett, and Maceo Parker, (to name a few), were artists who's concerts I attended. I wasn't into the Stones, Beatles, etc. I made my way to the source of the sound and discovered a DJ calling himself, "Terry WILD WILD West". I was mildly surprised to see this "white boy" playing this sometimes funky, but ALWAYS soulful music. The dance participants were doing this thing called West Coast Swing. Some were very impressive. I attributed their expertise to the fine music. What else could it be?? :-) One of the most impressive follows I first had the pleasure of watching was a wonderfully kind, charming, and attractive lady, named Linda West. (West again...........Hmmm!) I vowed I would learn this West Coast Swing dance so that I might have a dance with her one day. (That has happened, and I was thrilled for the opportunity. :-) I decided to embark on this great West Coast Swing adventure at the Lake City Elks Club where Terry and Jackie were teaching. Their involvement in my process has been huge. Any dance style I have been involved in over many years (ranging from social to performance) was best experienced through music I loved. Terry West has CONSISTENTLY supplied that level of music to the dance community in the time I have known him. The best evening of DJ'ed music I have EVER witnessed was played on Terry's 56th Birthday celebration by........., you guessed it, Terry WILD WILD West. After the dance, I asked him how he came up with an evening of purely "SOULFUL and FUNKY" music. He stated, "I played the music I like tonight"! YES, MR. WEST!!! Every night being your "birthday" would be just fine with me!! :-) Rock on Funk Master! You’re the man! :-) Thank you, VERY MUCH, for the many hours of outstanding dance music! Always a cut above! Sincerely, Gene Priest

P.S. The only "negative" I have to report, related to this great music experience, is that attending any other events without your music are not nearly as enjoyable to me. You have spoiled me Terry! Thanks again!

*******************************************************

Like many folks who are drawn to social dancing, I was first attracted to the dance scene because I wanted to experience that exhilarating feeling of dancing with a partner to great music. I decided eventually to take on West Coast Swing for the same reason I'd been struggling with salsa and other Latin dances for a few years -- the music is just so fantastic. Having danced for a year now to the musical selections of many different West Coast Swing DJs, I can say with confidence that Terry's music is my favorite! He offers many different styles and tempos, but all with that great swing and serious groove. I know my feet will be compelled onto the dancefloor whenever Terry's behind the tunes. Thanks Terry! - K. Hart

*******************************************************

Testimonials for Jackie

She is the best!!! I'm so glad to hear she is still around. I took West Coast Swing classes from Jackie and Terry back in 2000. (I still didn't pick up all the fancy moves she taught). She looks really good when she does the West Coast moves. I always think of her when I see the West Coast dancers, no one does it as well as she. I'd strongly urge anyone that wants to really learn the West Coast. To take the classes from her, it will be worth every cent!!!! - Peggy, Sapphire Band

*******************************************************

Several years ago I took Jackie's LADIES ONLY WEST COAST SWING STYLING WORKSHOP. Jackie is a terrific instructor! With the moves I learned, I added a lot to my West Coast Swing dancing. As soon as it works into my schedule, I plan to take another from her. Thank you Jackie! - Peace; Anita LaFranchi

Copyright © 2017 - Terry West Production
Design By Webeddy.com | Powered by www.snapstech.com